Student Council Election Results Are In!

Martina Lopez will be MacDuffie’s All-School President next year, with Cassidy Lu as her Vice President and Derrick Cruz as the Head Duty Prefect.

Elections for these positions for the 2019-2020 school year took place on Friday, May 3, with a total of ten qualified candidates running. Elections for class presidents and vice presidents will take place next Thursday, May 9.

Lu is looking forward to her position next year as she stated, “I am pretty excited about being VP next year and I am looking forward to making some changes to make everyone enjoy the community more.”

Cruz is enthusiastic about his position next year as well, saying, “I am very excited for next year and very pleased with the results. Getting elected into a student body position with just about a year at MacDuffie is pleasing enough and it has encouraged me to pursue more. This is a big thing and I am glad that people felt like I am worthy to represent them.”

Lopez could not be reached for comment over the weekend.